British Parachute Association

5 Wharf Way Tel: 0116 278 5271 Glen Parva Fax: 0116 247 7662

Leicester e-mail: skydive@bpa.org.uk

LE2 9TF www.bpa.org.uk



The Council

Minutes of the inaugural meeting of the year 2010 Council held on Saturday 16 January 2010 at 1150

in the Beaufort Room at the Blackpool Hilton

Present: Paul Applegate

Christopher Beattie

Adrian Bond Kieran Brady Richard Head John Horne Ian Marshall Paul Moore Craig Poxon Steve Saunders Andy Scott John Smyth MVO Martin Soulsby Weed Stoodley

Apology for absence: Paul Ledden

In attendance: Tony Butler - Technical Officer

Debbie Carter

John Hitchen - NCSO

Martin Shuttleworth - Secretary-General

Observers: 24

Item Minute

01/10 Election of Officers, etc

1.1 Election of Chair

Tony Butler took the Chair for the election of a Chairman. He invited nominations. Andy Scott proposed, and Steve Saunders seconded, a motion to elect John Smyth as Chairman of Council. John Smyth said he was willing to accept the nomination. Tony Butler asked if there were any other nominees, and there were none.

John Smyth elected Chairman of Council

John Smyth took the Chair.

1.2 Election of Vice Chair

The Chairman called for nominations for the office of Vice Chairman. Steve Saunders proposed, and Paul Moore seconded, a motion to elect John Horne as Vice Chairman of Council. John Horne said he was willing to accept the nomination.

The Chairman asked if there were any other nominations. He reported on a proxy nomination of Kieran Brady by Paul Ledden. Kieran Brady declined to stand. There were no further nominations.

John Horne elected Vice Chairman of Council

1.3 Election of Treasurer

The Chairman called for nominations for the office of Treasurer. Paul Moore proposed, and Andy Scott seconded, a motion to elect Debbie Carter as Treasurer. Debbie Carter said she was willing to accept the nomination if no elected Member of Council wished to be Treasurer. The Chairman asked if there were any other nominations, and there were none.

Debbie Carter elected as Treasurer

1.4 Election of Chair of STC

The Chairman invited nominations for the office of Chair of STC. Paul Moore proposed, and Paul Applegate seconded, a motion to elect John Hitchen as Chairman of STC. John Hitchen said that, as a member of BPA staff, he was both duty-bound and pleased to accept the nomination. The Chairman asked if there were any other nominations, and there were none.

John Hitchen elected as STC Chairman

1.5 Election of Chair of the Communications Committee

The Chairman invited nominations for the office of Chair of the Communications Committee. John Horne proposed, and Andy Scott seconded, a motion to elect Martin Soulsby as Chairman of the Communications Committee. Martin Soulsby said he was willing to accept the nomination. The Chairman asked if there were any other nominations and there were none.

Martin Soulsby elected as Communications Chairman

1.6 Election of Chair of the Development Committee

The Chairman invited nominations for the office of Chair of the Development Committee. Weed Stoodley proposed, and Kieran Brady seconded, a motion to elect Craig Poxon as Chairman of the Development Committee. Craig Poxon said he was willing to accept the nomination. The Chairman asked if there were any other nominations and there were none.

Craig Poxon elected as Development Chairman

1.7 Election of Chair of the Competitions Committee

The Chairman invited nominations for the Chair of the Competitions Committee. Weed Stoodley proposed, and Adrian Bond seconded, a motion that Andy Scott should be elected as Competitions Chairman. Andy Scott declined the nomination as he wished to concentrate on other areas this year.

The Chairman asked for other nominations. Andy Scott proposed, and John Horne seconded, a motion that Steve Saunders should be elected as Competitions Chairman. Steve Saunders accepted the nomination. There were no other nominations.

Steve Saunders elected as Competitions Chairman

1.8 Election of Delegate to RAeC

John Horne proposed, and Martin Soulsby seconded, a motion that John Smyth be elected as BPA Delegate to RAeC. This carried unanimously.

John Smyth elected as BPA Delegate to RAeC

1.9 Election Alternate Delegate to RAeC

Ian Marshall proposed, and John Horne seconded, a motion that Jim Crocker be elected as BPA Alternate Delegate to RAeC. This carried unanimously.

Jim Crocker elected as BPA Alternate Delegate to RAeC

1.10 Co-options to Council

The Council co-opted John Hitchen (STC Chairman), Debbie Carter (Treasurer) and Jim Crocker (Alternate Delegate to RAeC) as non-voting Members of Council.

The agenda itemized co-option of APA, RAFSPA, RAPA and BCPA to the Council as non-voting bodies.

02/10 Dates for Council meetings 2010

A suggested schedule of dates for Council meetings 2010, showing how they dovetailed with the planned dates of STC meetings, had been set out on the agenda.

Martin Soulsby raised a point about the venue of Council meetings that might impact on meetings dates. The Chairman said this should be an item on the agenda at the first ordinary meeting. Therefore, only the date of the first meeting was agreed - Tuesday 23 February 2010 at 1830 at the BPA Office.

04/10 Sport England Regional Representatives

The ten BPA representatives for the Sport England regions were:

Name	Region	First elected
Paul Ledden	West Midlands	2009
Grant Richards	East	2006
Stuart Morris	North West	2001
Lofty Thomas	Yorkshire & Humberside	1986
David Hickling	East Midlands	1986
Martin Soulsby	South	2008
John Smyth	Greater London	1996
lan Rosenvinge	North East	2003
lan Marshall	South East	1998
ad hoc cover	South West	2009

John Horne said he planned to ask the representatives whether they believed the above regional structure for England only was still relevant. He believed that it may be more appropriate in future for the BPA to consider appointing representatives or liaison officers to the home country sports councils, covering England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. He would pursue this through the Development Committee this year.

Action: John Horne

05/09 Committees and Action Plan 2010

The Chairman asked the Council to form the Communications, Competitions and Development Committees 2010 by those wishing to serve on a particular committee making themselves known to the Committee Chair. He asked that each Committee should draft its Action Plan for the year 1 July 2010 to 31 Match 2011. The Action Plan would be considered for ratification at the April Council meeting.

Action: All Council Members / Committee Chairmen

06/09 Date of next meeting

Tuesday 23 February 2010 at 1830 at the BPA Office, Glen Parva, Leicester.

The meeting closed at 1210.