British Parachute Association

5 Wharf Way Glen Parva Leicester LE2 9TF Tel: 0116 278 5271 Fax: 0116 247 7662 e-mail: skydive@bpa.org.uk www.bpa.org.uk



The Council

Minutes of the inaugural meeting of the year 2005 Council held on Saturday 22 January 2005 at 1200 at the Hinckley Island Hotel, Leicestershire

Present:	Chris Allen Paul Applegate Adrian Bond Kieran Brady Ralph Fielding Tony Goodman Nigel Holland Eddie Jones Ian Marshall John Page Andy Scott John Smyth Elizabeth Stoodley Jim White		
In attendance:	Tony Butler Debbie Carter Tony Knight	-	Technical Officer
	John Hitchen	-	NCSO Secretary-General
Observers:	5		

Item Minute

01/05 Election of Officers, etc

Tony Butler took the Chair pending the election of a Chairman. Once elected, the Chairman took over for the remainder of the meeting.

Elections took place as recorded in the table on page 3.

02/05 Council meetings 2005 & AGM 2006

Nigel Holland proposed, and Adrian Bond seconded, a motion that the timetable for Council meetings in 2005 would be: Tuesdays at 1830 at the BPA Office, Leicester: 15 February, 19 April, 14 June, 16 August, 11 October and 6 December (EGM & Council); and that the AGM 2006 would be held on Saturday 21 January 2006, provisionally at the Hinckley Island Hotel (subject to the negotiation of suitable rates).

John Smyth and John Hitchen tendered their apologies for absence from the February Council meeting as they would be out of the UK. The Chairman agreed to John Smyth's

request that matters arising from the last meeting needing an input from John Smyth would be deferred for consideration at the April meeting, when John Smyth would be present.

03/05 Sport England Regional Representatives

Andy Scott proposed, and Nigel Holland seconded, a motion that the following (who had signified their willingness to stand) be elected as BPA Representatives to the Sport England Regional bodies for 2005.

Michael Allum East David Hickling East Midlands John Smyth Greater London lan Rosenvindge North East Stuart Morris North West Doug Peacock South Ian Marshall South East Tony Goodman Mick Matthews South West West Midlands Lofty Thomas Yorkshire

Carried unanimously

The Chairman asked all Members of Council to join a Subcommittee by contacting the appropriate Committee Chairman immediately after this meeting.

Action: All Council Members

The first task of all Committees was to draft the one-year Action Plan for their area of responsibility to cover the period 1 July 2005 to 30 June 2006 inclusive. Jon Gretton, BPA Financial Administrator, had provided budget figures that had included the hoped-for (but not guaranteed) exchequer grant of £25K from UK Sport. However, any UK sport funding was likely to be earmarked £20K for Competitions and £5K for safety and the Council asked Jon Gretton to recalculate the figures taking this into account.

Action: BPA Office (Jon Gretton)

Each Committee Chairman was responsible for collecting ideas and drafting the matrix and accompanying explanatory text to put forward to the full Council on Tuesday 15 February. The Competitions, Communications and Development Committees planned to have short informal meetings following on from this Council meeting to discuss ideas.

The Chairman said that UK Sport was switching to a new funding regime, and that the BPA Action Plan would need to be expressed in terms that would hit UK Sport's new targets to release funding. This would be particularly important for the Competitions Committee, as UK Sport's new targets focused on this area.

The Chairman invited new members of the Council, if they had not already done so, to make themselves known to the Chairman or Chairmen of the Committee/s on which they wished to serve. The acceptance of a Council Member on more than one Subcommittee was at the discretion of the relevant Chairman.

Action: All Council Members / Committee Chairmen

05/04 Date of next meeting

04/05 Action Plan 2005/6

Tuesday 15 February 2005 at 1830 at the BPA Office, Glen Parva, Leicester (following meetings of the Communications and Development Committees during the afternoon).

The meeting closed at 1225 and a buffet lunch was provided for Council Members compliments of the Hinckley Island Hotel.

Issued: 14 February 2005 Distribution: Council, Vice Presidents, Treasurer, Staff and Editor

Elections of Officers, etc, for 2005

Position	Nominee/s	Proposer	Seconder	Outcome
Chairman	Chris Allen	John Smyth	Kieran Brady	Elected unanimously
Vice Chairman	John Smyth	Andy Scott	Ian Marshall	Elected unanimously
Treasurer	Debbie Carter	Elizabeth Stoodley	Eddie Jones	Elected unanimously
Chairman STC	John Hitchen	Paul Applegate	Tony Goodman	Elected unanimously
Chairman Development Committee	Kieran Brady	Eddie Jones	Paul Applegate	Elected unanimously
Chairman Competitions Committee	John Smyth	lan Marshall	Nigel Holland	Elected unanimously
Chairman Communications Committee	Eddie Jones	Kieran Brady	John Smyth	Elected unanimously
Delegate to RAeC	John Smyth	Paul Applegate	lan Marshall	Elected unanimously
Alternate Delegate to RAeC	Jim Crocker	John Smyth	lan Marshall	Elected unanimously
Club Representatives (Northern)	Jim White	Andy Scott	Nigel Holland	Elected unanimously
Club Representative (Central)	Andy Scott	Paul Applegate	Jim White	Elected unanimously
Club Representative (Southern)	Tony Goodman	Eddie Jones	lan Marshall	Elected unanimously
Liaison Officer to CAA	Tony Knight			
To co-opt Treasurer (if not Council member)	Debbie Carter			
To co-opt Chairman, STC (if not Council member)	John Hitchen	Paul Applegate	John Page	Elected unanimously
To co-opt Alternate Delegate to RAeC	Jim Crocker			
To co-opt affiliated / associated bodies	APA RAFSPA BCPA			