# **British Parachute Association**

5 Wharf Way Tel: 0116 278 5271 Glen Parva Fax: 0116 247 7662

Leicester e-mail: skydive@bpa.org.uk

LE2 9TF www.bpa.org.uk



### The Council

Minutes of the inaugural meeting of the year 2004 Council held on

Saturday 24 January 2004 at 1205

at the Hanover International Hotel, Hinckley, Leicestershire

Present: Chris Allen

Paul Appplegate Calvin Blacker Kieran Brady Tony Goodman David Hickling Nigel Holland Eddie Jones Ian Marshall Ian Midgley Andy Scott John Smyth Weed Stoodley Brian Vacher Jim White

In attendance: Tony Butler - Technical Officer

Debbie Carter

John Hitchen - NCSO

Martin Shuttleworth - Secretary-General
Sue Waterfield Administration Secretary

Observers: 12

#### Item Minute

# 01/04 Election of Officers, etc

Tony Butler took the Chair pending the election of a Chairman. Once elected, the Chairman took over for the remainder of the meeting.

Elections took place as recorded in the table on page 3.

## 02/04 Council meetings 2004

The following dates were agreed for Council meetings in 2004:Tuesdays at 1830 at the BPA Office, Leicester: 17 February, 20 April, 15 June, 17 August, 19 October and 7 December (EGM & Council).

#### 03/04 Sport England Regional Representatives

lan Midgley proposed, and Nigel Holland seconded, a motion that the following (who had signified their willingness to stand) be elected as BPA Representatives to the Sport England Regional bodies for 2004.

Michael Allum East

David Hickling East Midlands John Smyth Greater London to be confirmed\* North East Stuart Morris North West Doug Peacock South Ian Marshall South East to be confirmed\* South West Mick Matthews West Midlands Loftv Thomas Yorkshire

#### Carried unanimously

#### 04/04 Action Plan 2004/5

The Chairman asked all Members of Council to join a Subcommittee by contacting the appropriate Committee Chairman immediately after this meeting.

#### **Action: All Council Members**

The first task of all Committees was to draft the one-year Action Plan for their area of responsibility to cover the period 1 July 2004 to 30 June 2005 inclusive. Although the UK Sport funding year had changed, the timetable for preparation and submission of the Action Plan was the same as before. This required agreement at the February Council meeting for preparation of the final documentation during March and submission in April. UK Sport's new timetable for deciding on funding meant that it would be scrutinising the achievements of the current year's Action Plan even more closely, rather than relying on plans for the coming year. In practice, this would have little impact on the preparation of the Action Plan, other than to emphasise even more clearly that the targets and their associated budgets had to be realistic and achievable, because the Association - and specifically its future entitlement to exchequer funding - would be judged by how well it achieved them.

In response to a question from Ian Midgely, the Chairman explained that much of the funding for the Action Plan was likely to come from the BPA's own reserves - UK Sport exchequer funding had in recent years been running at £40K a year, of which UK Sport had specified that £20K each should be spent on (i) safety and (ii) competitions. Whilst it was impossible to predict what this year's funding might be, there had been no indication from UK Sport that funding was likely to increase. Indeed, UK Sport was unable to give any commitment from year to year to maintain a particular amount.

Each Committee Chairman was responsible for collecting ideas and drafting the matrix and accompanying explanatory text to put forward to the full Council on Tuesday 17 February. The Competitions, Communications and Development Committees planned to have short informal meetings following on from this Council meeting to discuss ideas.

The Chairman invited new members of the Council to make themselves known to the Chairman or Chairmen of the Committee/s on which they wished to serve. All Council Members were asked to serve on at least one Subcommittee. The acceptance of a Council Member on more than one Subcommittee was at the discretion of the relevant Chairman.

#### Action: All Council Members / Committee Chairmen

#### 05/04 Date of next meeting

Tuesday 17 February 2004 at 1830 at the BPA Office, Glen Parva, Leicester (following meetings of the Communications and Development Committees during the afternoon).

The meeting closed at 1225 and a buffet lunch was provided for Council Members compliments of the Hanover International Hotel, Hinckley.

Issued: 11 February 2004

Distribution: Council, Vice Presidents, Treasurer, Staff and Editor

<sup>\* -</sup> indicates to be confirmed at the Council meeting on 17 February 2004.

# **Elections of Officers, etc, for 2004**

Position	Nominee/s	Proposer	Seconder	Outcome
Chairman	Chris Allen	Ian Marshall	Kieran Brady	Elected unanimously
Vice Chairman	John Smyth	Kieran Brady	lan Midgley	Elected unanimously
Treasurer	Debbie Carter	Ian Midgley	Nigel Holland	Elected unanimously
Chairman STC	John Hitchen	David Hickling	Kieran Brady	Elected unanimously
Chairman Development Committee	Kieran Brady	Eddie Jones	Calvin Blacker	Elected unanimously
Chairman Competitions Committee	John Smyth	lan Midgley	Paul Applegate	Elected unanimously
Chairman Communications Committee	Eddie Jones	Ian Midgley	Paul Applegate	Elected unanimously
Delegate to RAeC	John Smyth	lan Midgley	Kieran Brady	Elected unanimously
Alternate Delegate to RAeC	lan Marshall	Ian Midgley	Kieran Brady	Elected unanimously
Club Representatives (Northern)	Jim White	lan Midgley	David Hickling	Elected unanimously
Club Representative (Central)	Andy Scott			
Club Representative (Southern)	Tony Goodman			
Liaison Officer to CAA	Tony Knight	lan Midgley	David Hickling	Elected unanimously
To co-opt Treasurer (if not Council member)	Debbie Carter	Ian Midgley	lan Marshall	Carried unanimously
To co-opt Chairman, STC (if not Council member)	John Hitchen	Nigel Holland	Eddie Jones	Carried unanimously
To co-opt affiliated / associated bodies	APA RAFSPA BCPA	Ian Midgley Paul Applegate Calvin Blacker	Eddie Jones Andy Scott Kieran Brady	Carried unanimously Carried unanimously Carried unanimously