British Parachute Association

5 Wharf Way Tel: 0116 278 5271 Glen Parva Fax: 0116 247 7662

Leicester e-mail: skydive@bpa.org.uk

LE2 9TF www.bpa.org.uk



The Council

Minutes of the inaugural meeting of the year 2003 Council held on

Saturday 18 January 2003 at 1145

at the Hanover International Hotel, Hinckley, Leicestershire

Present: Chris Allen

Paul Appplegate Calvin Blacker Kieran Brady Ralph Fielding Billy Gollan David Hickling Nigel Holland Eddie Jones Ian Marshall Ian Midgley John Smyth Jim White

In attendance: Tony Butler - Technical Officer

Debbie Carter

John Hitchen - NCSO

Trudy Kemp Assistant to TO/NCSO
Martin Shuttleworth - Secretary-General
Sue Waterfield Administration Secretary

Observers: 8

Item Minute

01/03 Election of Officers, etc

Tony Butler took the Chair pending the election of a Chairman. Once elected, the Chairman took over for the rest of the meeting.

Elections took place as recorded in the table on page 3.

Kieran Brady asked that the co-option of the Scottish Sport Parachute Association (SSPA) should be deleted from the agenda. He said that SSPA had now been wound up, and that the Chairman of SSPA wished him to convey his thanks for the SSPA's relationship with the BPA in the past. Jim White raised a matter in connection with SSPA but the Chairman ruled this not to be a matter for the BPA.

02/03 Council meetings 2003

The following dates were agreed for Council meetings in 2002:Tuesdays at 1830 at the BPA Office, Leicester: 18 February, 15 April, 17 June, 19 August, 21 October and 2 December (EGM & Council).

03/03 Sport England Regional Representatives

lan Midgley proposed, and Eddie Jones seconded, a motion that the following (who had all signified their willingness to stand) be elected as BPA Representatives to the Sport England Regional bodies for 2003.

Michael Allum East

David Hickling East Midlands John Smyth Greater London Chris Francis North East Stuart Morris North West Doug Peacock South Ian Marshall South East John Fisher South West Mick Matthews West Midlands Lofty Thomas Yorkshire

Carried unanimously

04/03 Action Plan 2003/4

The Chairman asked all Members of Council to join a Subcommittee by contacting the appropriate Committee Chairman immediately after this meeting.

Action: All Council Members

The first task of all Committees was to draft the one-year Action Plan for their area of responsibility to cover the period 1 July 2003 to 30 June 2004 inclusive. Each Committee Chairman was responsible for collecting ideas and drafting the matrix and accompanying narrative to put forward to the full Council on Tuesday 18 February. The Competitions, Communications and Development Committees planned to have short informal meetings following on from this Council meeting to discuss ideas.

Action: All Council Members / Committee Chairmen

A paper on budgeting by Tony Butler and Martin Shuttleworth had been tabled. The Chairman said he did not propose to take discussion on this now, but asked Council Members kindly to read it outside the meeting and bear it in mind when drafting budgets for Action Plan targets. The Chairman said he planned to come back the to the budget paper at a later date.

05/03 Date of next meeting

Tuesday 18 February 2003 at 1830 at the BPA Office, Glen Parva, Leicester (following meetings of the Communications and Development Committees during the afternoon).

The meeting closed at 1235.

Issued: 17 February 2003

Distribution: Council, Vice Presidents, Treasurer, Staff and Editor

Elections of Officers, etc, for 2003

| Position | Nominee/s | Proposer | Seconder | Outcome |
|---|------------------------|--|---|---|
| Chairman | Chris Allen | John Smyth | Kieran Brady | Elected unanimously |
| Vice Chairman | Kieran Brady | Ian Midgley | Eddie Jones | Kieran Brady declined the nomination as John Smyth was incumbent VC |
| | John Smyth | Ian Marshall | Kieran Brady | Elected unanimously |
| Treasurer | Debbie Carter | Ian Midgley | lan Marshall | Elected unanimously |
| Chairman STC | John Hitchen | Eddie Jones | lan Marshall | Elected unanimously |
| Chairman Development Committee | lan Midgley | Eddie Jones | Ian Marshall | lan Midgley declined the nomination due to work pressure and health |
| | Kieran Brady | Ian Midgley | John Smyth | factors Elected unanimously |
| Chairman Competitions Committee | John Smyth | Paul Applegate | Nigel Holland | Elected unanimously |
| Chairman Communications Committee | Eddie Jones | Ian Midgley | Kieran Brady | Elected unanimously |
| Delegate to RAeC | John Smyth | Ian Mrashall | lan Midgley | Elected unanimously |
| Alternate Delegate to RAeC | lan Marshall | David Hickling | John Smyth | Elected unanimously |
| Club Representatives (Northern) | Kieran Brady Jim White | Nigel Holland | Eddie Jones | Elected unanimously |
| Club Representative (Central) | Calvin Blacker | Ian Marshall | Nigel Holland | Elected unanimously |
| Club Representative (Southern) | Nigel Holland | Ian Midgley | lan Marshall | Elected unanimously |
| Liaison Officer to CAA | Tony Knight | lan Midgley | Kieran Brady | Elected unanimously |
| To co-opt Treasurer (if not Council member) | Debbie Carter | Kieran Brady | David Hickling | Carried unanimously |
| To co-opt Chairman, STC (if not Council member) | John Hitchen | lan Marshall | Paul Applegate | Carried unanimously |
| To co-opt affiliated / associated bodies | APA RAFSPA BCPA | Paul Applegate Paul Applegate Calvin Blacker | Jim White Nigel Holland Ian Midgley | Carried unanimously Carried unanimously Carried unanimously |