British Parachute Association

5 Wharf Way Tel: 0116 278 5271 Glen Parva Fax: 0116 247 7662

Leicester e-mail: skydive@bpa.org.uk

LE2 9TF www.bpa.org.uk



The Council

Minutes of the inaugural meeting of the year 2011 Council held on Saturday 22 January 2011 at 1210

in the Coventry Suite at the Coventry Hilton

Present: Paul Applegate
Adrian Bond

Kieran Brady Alex Busby Richard Head Ian Marshall Paul Moore John Page Craig Poxon Steve Saunders Martin Soulsby Weed Stoodley

In attendance: Liz Ashley - Editor, Skydive the Mag

Tony Butler - Technical Officer

Debbie Carter

John Hitchen - NCSO

Trudy Kemp - PA to TO/NCSO

Helen Lucas - Administration Secretary
Martin Shuttleworth - Secretary-General

John Smyth MVO - Immediate-past Chairman

Observers: 8

Item Minute

01/11 Election of Officers, etc

1.1 Election of Chair

Tony Butler took the Chair for the election of a Chairman. He invited nominations. Craig Poxon proposed, and Steve Saunders seconded, a motion to elect Martin Soulsby as Chairman of Council. Martin Soulsby said he was willing to accept the nomination. Tony Butler asked if there were any other nominees, and there were none.

Martin Soulsby elected Chairman of Council

Martin Soulsby took the Chair.

1.2 Election of Vice Chair

The Chairman called for nominations for the office of Vice Chairman. Weed Stoodley proposed, and Kieran Brady seconded, a motion to elect Craig Poxon as Vice Chairman of Council. Craig Poxon said he was willing to accept the nomination. There were no further nominations.

Craig Poxon elected Vice Chairman of Council

1.3 Election of Treasurer

The Chairman called for nominations for the office of Treasurer. Weed Stoodley proposed, and Ian Marshall seconded, a motion to elect Debbie Carter as Treasurer. Debbie Carter said she was willing to accept the nomination if no elected Member of Council wished to be Treasurer. The Chairman asked if there were any other nominations, and there were none.

Debbie Carter elected as Treasurer

1.4 Election of Chair of STC

The Chairman invited nominations for the office of Chair of STC. John Page proposed, and Steve Saunders seconded, a motion to elect John Hitchen as Chairman of STC. John Hitchen said that, as a member of BPA staff, he was both duty-bound and pleased to accept the nomination. The Chairman asked if there were any other nominations, and there were none.

John Hitchen elected as STC Chairman

1.5 Election of Chair of the Communications Committee

The Chairman invited nominations for the office of Chair of the Communications Committee. Weed Stoodley proposed, and Paul Applegate seconded, a motion to elect Adrian Bond as Chairman of the Communications Committee. Adrian Bond said he was willing to accept the nomination. The Chairman asked if there were any other nominations and there were none.

Adrian Bond elected as Communications Chairman

1.6 Election of Chair of the Development Committee

The Chairman invited nominations for the office of Chair of the Development Committee. Weed Stoodley proposed, and Alex Busby seconded, a motion to elect Craig Poxon as Chairman of the Development Committee. Craig Poxon asked if there was any reason why, as Vice Chairman of Council, he should not also chair the Development Committee. Paul Applegate confirmed there was not: only the Chair of Council should not also be Chairman of a Committee of Council. Craig Poxon then said he was willing to accept the nomination. The Chairman asked if there were any other nominations and there were none.

Craig Poxon elected as Development Chairman

1.7 Election of Chair of the Competitions Committee

The Chairman invited nominations for the Chair of the Competitions Committee. Richard Head proposed, and Adrian Bond seconded, a motion that Steve Saunders should be elected as Competitions Chairman. Steve Saunders said he was willing to accept the nomination.. There were no other nominations.

Steve Saunders elected as Competitions Chairman

1.8 Election of Delegate to RAeC

lan Marshall proposed, and Steve Saunders seconded, a motion that John Smyth be elected as BPA Delegate to RAeC. This carried unanimously.

John Smyth elected as BPA Delegate to RAeC

1.9 Election of Alternate Delegate to RAeC

Steve Saunders proposed, and Craig Poxon seconded, a motion that Jim Crocker be elected as BPA Alternate Delegate to RAeC. This carried unanimously.

Jim Crocker elected as BPA Alternate Delegate to RAeC

1.10 Co-options to Council

The following were co-opted to the Council, each in a non-voting capacity.

<u>Co-optee</u>	<u>Proposer</u>	<u>Seconder</u>	<u>Vote</u>
John Hitchen (STC Chairman)	lan Marshall	Richard Head	<u>Carried</u>
Debbie Carter (Treasurer)	Paul Moore	Weed Stoodley	<u>Carried</u>
John Smyth MVO (Delegate to RAeC) & Jim Crocker (Alternate Delegate to R	lan Marshall AeC)	Richard Head	<u>Carried</u>

Army Parachute Association	Paul Moore	Alex Busby	<u>Carried</u>
RAF Sport Parachute Association	Ian Marshall	Adrian Bond	<u>Carried</u>
Rhine Army Parachute Association	Paul Moore	Steve Saunders	<u>Carried</u>
British Collegiate Parachute Ass'n	John Page	Craig Poxon	Carried

02/11 Dates for Council meetings 2011

Council agreed the following meeting dates for 2011, as suggested on the agenda, with STC meeting dates for information.

(STC dates in 2011)	Council dates in 2011
(Thursday 10 February)	Tuesday 22 February
(Thursday 7 April)	Tuesday 19 April
(Thursday 9 June)	Tuesday 21 June
(Thursday 4 August)	Tuesday 16 August
(Thursday 29 September)	Tuesday 11 October
(Thursday 24 November)	Tuesday 6 December

03/11 Election of John Smyth MVO as Vice President and Life Member

In recognition of his contribution to Council for over 18 years, and Chairman for over three, lan Marshall proposed, and Paul Moore seconded, a motion that John Smyth MVO, immediate-past Chairman of Council, be elected a Vice President of the Association.

Carried unanimously

Richard Head then proposed, and Kieran Brady seconded, a motion that John Smyth be elected a Life Member.

Carried unanimously

John Smyth thanked the Council for this honour.

04/11 Composition of Committees

The following composition of voting members was agreed.

Communications Committee (quorum: 2): Paul Applegate, Adrian Bond (Chair), Kieran Brady, Alex Busby, Craig Poxon.

Competitions Committee (quorum: 4): Richard Head, Ian Marshall, Paul Moore, Steve Saunders (Chair), Weed Stoodley.

Development Committee (quorum: 3): Paul Applegate, Adrian Bond, Kieran Brady, Alex Busby, Craig Poxon (Chair), John Page.

05/11 Date of next meeting

Tuesday 22 February 2011 at 1830 at the BPA Office, Glen Parva, Leicester.

The meeting closed at 1235.