British Parachute Association

5 Wharf Way Glen Parva Leicester LE2 9TF Tel: 0116 278 5271 Fax: 0116 247 7662 e-mail: skydive@bpa.org.uk www.bpa.org.uk



The Council

Minutes of the inaugural meeting of the year 2012 Council held on Saturday 28 January 2012 at 1210 on the Premier Suite Balcony, Reebok Stadium, Bolton

Present:	Paul Applegate Adrian Bond Karen Bain Kieran Brady Marc Fletcher Richard Head Ian Marshall Paul Moore John Page Craig Poxon Steve Saunders Mark Skarratts Martin Soulsby Weed Stoodley James Swallow	
In attendance:	Liz Ashley - Tony Butler - Debbie Carter John Hitchen - Trudy Kemp - Helen Lucas - Martin Shuttleworth - John Smyth MVO -	Editor, Skydive the Mag Technical Officer NCSO PA to TO/NCSO Administration Secretary Secretary-General Immediate-past Chairman
Observers:	8	

Item Minute

01/12 Election of Officers, etc

1.1 Election of Chair

Tony Butler took the Chair for the election of a Chairman. He invited nominations. Craig Poxon proposed, and Paul Moore seconded, a motion to elect Martin Soulsby as Chairman of Council. Martin Soulsby said he was willing to accept the nomination. Tony Butler asked if there were any other nominees, and there were none.

Martin Soulsby elected Chairman of Council

Martin Soulsby took the Chair.

1.2 Election of Vice Chair

The Chairman called for nominations for the office of Vice Chairman.

Ian Marshall proposed, and John Page seconded, a motion to elect of Kieran Brady as Vice Chairman.

Weed Stoodley proposed, and Paul Moore seconded, a motion to elect Craig Poxon as Vice Chairman of Council.

Kieran Brady declined the nomination. Craig Poxon said he was willing to accept the nomination.

1.3 Election of Treasurer

The Chairman called for nominations for the office of Treasurer. Weed Stoodley proposed, and Steve Saunders seconded, a motion to elect Debbie Carter as Treasurer. Debbie Carter said she was willing to accept the nomination. There were no other nominations.

Debbie Carter elected as Treasurer

1.4 Election of Chair of STC

The Chairman invited nominations for the office of Chair of STC. John Page proposed, and Kieran Brady seconded, a motion to elect John Hitchen as Chairman of STC. John Hitchen said he was willing to accept the nomination. There were no other nominations.

John Hitchen elected as STC Chairman

1.5 Election of Chair of the Communications Committee

The Chairman invited nominations for the office of Chair of the Communications Committee. Steve Saunders proposed, and Weed Stoodley seconded, a motion to elect Adrian Bond as Chairman of the Communications Committee. Adrian Bond said he was willing to accept the nomination. There were no other nominations.

Adrian Bond elected as Communications Chairman

1.6 Election of Chair of the Development Committee

The Chairman invited nominations for the office of Chair of the Development Committee. John Page proposed, and Adrian Bond seconded, a motion to elect Craig Poxon as Chairman of the Development Committee. Craig Poxon then said he was willing to accept the nomination. There were no other nominations.

Craig Poxon elected as Development Chairman

1.7 Election of Chair of the Competitions Committee

The Chairman invited nominations for the Chair of the Competitions Committee. Paul Moore proposed, and Ian Marshall seconded, a motion that Steve Saunders should be elected as Competitions Chairman. Steve Saunders said he was willing to accept the nomination. There were no other nominations.

Steve Saunders elected as Competitions Chairman

1.8 Election of Delegate to RAeC

Kieran Brady proposed, and Steve Saunders seconded, a motion that John Smyth MVO be elected as BPA Delegate to RAeC. This carried unanimously.

John Smyth elected as BPA Delegate to RAeC

1.9 Election of Alternate Delegate to RAeC

Ian Marshall proposed, and Paul Applegate seconded, a motion that Jim Crocker be elected as BPA Alternate Delegate to RAeC. This carried unanimously.

Jim Crocker elected as BPA Alternate Delegate to RAeC

1.10 Co-options to Council

Kieran Brady proposed, and Steve Saunders seconded, a motion to co-opt the following to the Council, each in a non-voting capacity: Debbie Carter (Treasurer), John Hitchen (STC Chairman), John Smyth MVO (Delegate to RAeC)& Jim Crocker (Alternate Delegate to RAeC). This carried unanimously.

<u>Co-opted</u>

The co-option to Council of the following organisations was questioned by Paul Moore: Army Parachute Association, Rhine Army Parachute Association, British Collegiate Parachute Association. Tony Butler (Technical Officer) said the reason for these co-options was historic and he believed them to be no longer necessary. The Council agreed to consider the matter at its February meeting.

Defer to February meeting

Craig Poxon elected Vice Chairman of Council

02/12 Composition of Committees

The Chairman invited the Committee Chairs to form their Committees immediately after this meeting, and advise the Office of their composition. No Committee could have a majority of voting members on Council.

03/12 Dates of Council meetings 2012

Council agreed the following meeting dates for 2012, as suggested on the agenda, with STC meeting dates for information.

<u>(STC dates in 2012)</u>	Council dates in 2012
(Thursday 9 February)	Tuesday 21 February
(Thursday 5 April)	Tuesday 17 April
(Thursday 7 June)	Tuesday 19 June
(Thursday 2 August)	Tuesday 14 August
(Thursday 27 September)	Tuesday 9 October
(Thursday 22 November)	Tuesday 4 December

Kieran Brady asked that consideration be given to holding meetings of the Competitions Committee at a time that did not clash with meetings of other Committees. Steve Saunders (Competitions Chairman) said this had been found to be the most effective use of time, as members of his Committee would otherwise have either to take an additional day off work, or to start unreasonably early on meetings day.

04/12 Date of next meeting

Tuesday 21 February 2012 at 1830 at the BPA Office, Glen Parva, Leicester.

The meeting closed at 1235.

Ratified by the Council on 21 February 2012 and published on 1 March 2012